cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Almost out of the North East

Ernest
Explorer
Explorer
Well we're getting ready for what we hope will be our "Annual Pilgrimage" to Key West.
It took about an hour to get the motorhome out of storage. She had cold soaked for about 10 days at or near 5*. The generator was able to start as I need the block heater to let the old girl finish her pre-start sequence. BTW I've never used her in the dead of winter before.

She's in the driveway now plugged in. We have most of the summer time stuff loaded. Early next week we'll finish the clothing and put the Kayak on top of the Jeep.

This Nor'easter that's coming up the coast I hope is the last one.
We have two routes mapped out depending on the weather. I81 if I95 is snowed in and I95 if I81 is snowed in. Won't make that call till the night before we leave.

2 months in a bathing suit is going to be quite a change from this Artic blast we've been living with.

For those of you that are down there put a candle in the window for us. I'll bring cheese steaks and pretzels but no cold weather.
Ernest & Joanne
2000 Tradewinds 300 CAT
2014 Jeep Cherokee Limited
Travelingonthetradewinds.blogspot.com 2014 Alaska Blog
Travelingonthetradewinds1.blogspot.com 2017 South West Blog
10 REPLIES 10

Ernest
Explorer
Explorer
jplante4 wrote:
Make sure you give Tradewinds a good bath to wash off the NE road salt.

I needed to get the CAT started last week to move the Sahara into a garage for a windshield replacement. It has warmed up but, like yours, mine cold soaked for over a week. Unlike yours, I don't have a block heater (Florida coach).

Stated the genny and let it run up the chassis batteries for a while, let the inlet heater warm up the box and hit the key. 3 or 4 full turns and off she went with a belch of black smoke.

Have fun in the Keys.

Don't have too much salt so far.