Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie has TT with rotted nose and floor

revcrab
Explorer
Explorer
Hey all!!
I'm John. We were given a 2001 19' TT. It's had some major leaking, so much so that the entire nose framework from the front window down has dissolved and most of the floor edge framing pieces (ledgerboards?) have rotted away. The black tarp material (Darco?) seems to have held the water and everything has turned to mush. I'me going to replace the wood, but I'm really resistant to replacing that plastic tarp. I think using treated structural wood and spraying on a deck watersealer would take care of the water that comes up from the road.

Due to rodent and water damage, I am going to re-route the electrics and propane line through the cabin and do my best to completely seal the floor. so there won't be anything under there for the underbelly wrap to protect.

What problems am I overlooking, and what are your thoughts?
This is my first time with a Travel Trailer, but we've converted a cargo van into a van camper, so we're not complete newbies to rv-ing.

Sorry for the long post, and I look forward to your thoughts.
--John
2006 Chevy Express 2500 DIY Van Camper
2001 Dutchmen 19' TT currently being rebuilt
35 REPLIES 35

Gdetrailer
Explorer III
Explorer III
revcrab wrote:
Here's where we are right now. Still removing rotten floor framing and figuring out how to structurally stabilize the nose.

Click For Full-Size Image.

Just a little "dryrot" there..

It will "buff out"..

In reality, it looks worse than it is..

You can check out my rebuild HERE to compare notes.. Google drive pages sometimes are a bit slow loading..

Just takes a lot of work and a few heaps of money in materials but it can be fixed.

revcrab
Explorer
Explorer