cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Base plate ?

Speedy921
Explorer
Explorer
Can a baseplate from a Wrangler fit a Liberty ? Is it difficult to mount a baseplate?

My local Hitch place says $400 labor.
12 REPLIES 12

RJsfishin
Explorer
Explorer
I built, and installed the base plates for both my 2005 and 2012 Libertys. I saved a ton of money, but being a welder/metal fab by trade made the job easier. The most difficult thing for me was to R & R the front bumper grill assemblies.
For the average person, don't attempt it yourself IMO.
And forget getting any base plates to interchange....except for the same make and model.
Rich

'01 31' Rexall Vision, Generac 5.5k, 1000 watt Honda, PD 9245 conv, 300 watts Solar, 150 watt inv, 2 Cos 6v batts, ammeters, led voltmeters all over the place, KD/sat, 2 Oly Cat heaters w/ ox, and towing a 2012 Liberty, Lowe bass boat, or a Kawi Mule.

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
Not likely. Baseplate from a Wrangler might not even fit a different model or model year Wrangler.

How difficult to mount depends on where it attaches, whether or not chassis modifications are needed, and how much bodywork needs to be removed and replaced. I thought, from the instructions, putting a baseplate on my Honda Fit would be easy. I was considering all those years in my teens when I was doing body work in my dad's collision shop, i.e. coming to the job with some experience taking cars apart and putting them back together. It was not as easy as it looked.

I had planned to have a RV shop do it, but they couldn't get me in for a couple more weeks, and I was in a hurry. The job took me four hours, spread out over two days, in the sun on a concrete driveway. There was at least another six hours of cooling off and rehydrating.