cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

CB Radio???

Blutoyz
Explorer
Explorer
I was on the road today in my car and a question popped into my head....

Do trucks still use CB radios today with all of the tech available? Is it a good option to add along with an RV GPS for newbies?

What say you?
She may be old but she is paid for (the rig that is)
35 REPLIES 35

mowermech
Explorer
Explorer
Harley Doc wrote:
As a registered ham operator, I like my 2M for general communications but I see the advantages of a CB for traffic, etc. A related questions for the group: I don't want to drill a hole in the roof of my 2017 ford SD, and mag mounts won't work on the aluminum bodies How are you mounting your antennas?

There are various clamp on antenna mounts available. There are also mounts that fit along side the hood, and are bolted or screwed to the fender under the hood. AES and HRO both have such mounts in their catalogs.
73, KJ7POE If in the Billings area, give me a shout on the 147.360 repeater (standard offset, 100hz sub-audible tone) or the 145.410 (standard offset, 100 Hz tone). Those repeaters are linked. I might be by the radio. Or, check in on Uncle Don's Early Morning net, 0800 lcl time, M-F, same repeaters.
CM1, USN (RET)
2017 Jayco TT
Daily Driver: '14 Subaru Outback
1998 Dodge QC LWB, Cummins, 5 speed, 4X2
2 Kawasaki Brute Force 750 ATVs.
Pride Raptor 3 wheeled off-road capable mobility scooter
"When seconds count, help is only minutes away!"

memtb
Explorer
Explorer
Blutoyz, We have one, though we rarely use it. When used it is primarily for weather conditions...as we do a bit of winter travel.
Todd & Marianne
Miniature Schnauzer's - Sundai, Nellie & Maggie Mae
2007 Dodge Ram 3500, 6.7 Cummins, 6 speed manual, 3.73 ratio, 4x4
2004 Teton Grand Freedom, 39'
2007 Bigfoot 30MH26Sl

Bumpyroad
Explorer
Explorer
Harley Doc wrote: