cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Brakes on Hybrid

Nisel
Explorer
Explorer
I am a newbie with a tow trailer. I had a motor home before. I am getting my car wired to activate the brakes on the trailer. I have an S-17 Stampede by Palomino Hybrid. My question is how can I make sure that the brakes are hooked up under the trailer. It is a 2006 and the people I bought it from never said anything about needing brakes to the car! They had a truck. I just want to look and then try it after the car is wired. It looks like there are some cables not hooked up under the trailer and I do not know what they are. Do these brakes have a large cable running under the trailer?? Sorry...I am just very new at this and I want to make sure all is working properly. Thank you..
6 REPLIES 6

bikendan
Explorer
Explorer
Nisel wrote:
I am a newbie with a tow trailer. I had a motor home before. I am getting my car wired to activate the brakes on the trailer. I have an S-17 Stampede by Palomino Hybrid. My question is how can I make sure that the brakes are hooked up under the trailer. It is a 2006 and the people I bought it from never said anything about needing brakes to the car! They had a truck. I just want to look and then try it after the car is wired. It looks like there are some cables not hooked up under the trailer and I do not know what they are. Do these brakes have a large cable running under the trailer?? Sorry...I am just very new at this and I want to make sure all is working properly. Thank you..

it would help if you posted what "car" you are talking about and its specs.

Your car needs to have the factory tow package with a 7 pin connector AND pre-wiring for a brake controller.

A "car" may not be equipped for towing a full height trailer with electric brakes.

But not knowing what car you have and how it's equipped, makes helping you difficult.