cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Electric issue

skiatom
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 97 Fleetwood Bounder. I cannot get the Refrigerator to cycle to AC, and the air conditioners will not come on when I am plugged in to shore power. When I run the generator, the air works, but the refrigerator stays on gas. Also the heater wants to run even though it is not on. I have an Intellitec Master Control unit 00-00591-200. When I start the generator, I hear the transfer switch click. Any ideas?
22 REPLIES 22

Jim
Explorer
Explorer
skiatom wrote:
Well, found the source of my electric issue. Bad extension cord. Relocated RV to location closer to pole and used different cord. All back to normal, except the fridge. I will just run it on propane for my trip, then fix it over the winter. Thanks a lot Jim@HiTek. Your guidance has been invaluable!

You are very welcome. Hope every problem you have from now on is as easy to solve. BTW, I did have that same problem years ago. Bad extension cord. One day it was fine, the next, it open circuited. Took a bit of head scratching before figuring it out.

The refer problem is likely the heater as they tend to be the high failure item but remember there's also a fuse and relay involved on the control board, which is behind the refer (under the outside vent cover). There are 2 black wires that come from the chimney...that's the heater. And usually they can be pulled off wire terminals at the control board. The other red wire heading to the chimney is the spark/thermocouple device. With power off, check for resistance on the two heater wires. I suspect it will be under 10 ohms or so. If your meter reads OL or similar, it's an open circuit.

Good luck! Happy travels.
Jim@HiTek
Have shop, will travel!
Visit my travel & RV repair blog site. Subscribe for emailed updates.
Winnebago Journey, '02
Cat 330HP Diesel, 36.5', two slides.

skiatom
Explorer
Explorer