Motorhome Magazine Open Roads Forum: Living in Cap over trailer full time advice
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> Living in Cap over trailer full time advice

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Next
Sponsored By:
jjp527

View Profile

Posted: 09/12/17 03:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am a grad student considering moving to living in a cap over camper full time. Rather than paying rent, I would rather be paying for something I can keep.

I have an F250, but do not currently own a camper. I live in the CA central valley, so hot summers ( but I spend most of day at school in AC) and fairly mild winters (rain, no snow).

Does anyone have any advice?

donn0128

Pronounced Ore-gun

View Profile

Posted: 09/12/17 03:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You will be much happier with a TT. A truck camper by its very nature is limited, limited space, storage, tank capacities are only a few.

Don,Lorri,and Charlie Bear 2016
The Other Dallas

darsben1

near Canada in NYS/ Casa Grande, AZ

View Profile

Posted: 09/12/17 03:58pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If the F250 is what you use to commute to work/school then a travel trailer is most likely better for you

Traveling with my best friend, my wife in a 1990 Southwind

jjp527

View Profile

Posted: 09/12/17 04:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

So, for some more information-

I semi frequently haul a horse trailer/horse camp, so would prefer a cabover so I could still haul the trailer. I was considering parking on campus (so no commute) and/or parking at a good friends house a mile or so away and biking in most days.

donn0128

Pronounced Ore-gun

View Profile