Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tow/Launch Boat With Camper Van

thebaker10
Explorer
Explorer
Hi Folks,
Just joined this forum and am looking for a little info/experiences you all may have. Our family has been tent camping once or twice a year for the past few years. We recently purchased a pontoon boat and plan to take it with us on many camping trips in the future. We like the tent camping but I'm looking at other options out there as tent camping has a fair amount of setup time, etc. We have been traveling with our minivan and it works great but won't work to tow/launch the pontoon. Plan is to use our Suburban unless I come up with some other option. I'm new to all this camping stuff and recently came across the "Roadtrek" vans which seem pretty neat. Looks like you could tow/launch a boat with one and have room to sleep up to four. However, for our purposes I really don't need a toilet and kitchen. Do any manufacturers make like a "sleeping van"? Basically a van with seats that convert to beds but not all the camper stuff like toilet, kitchen, closet, etc. that takes up most of the interior room? Thanks for any info shared.
6 REPLIES 6

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
PleasureWay's Traverse on the E-series was more of a sleeper van, although it had a small kitchen area. To sleep more than two, it had to have an upper bunk under a pop-up top. Sort up like an upscaled version of the camper vans Westfalia and Sportmobile built on the VW vans for more than 40 years. If you want to tow a boat, you would be looking for a Traverse with 5.4 V-8.