cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Other Damon Owners?

NEOhioCamper
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to the RV community. I have just purchased a 1997 Damon Ultrasport Class A 37 ft RV with a Ford chassis - gas with 60,000 miles. I would like some insight as to common problems other owners have faced with this rig. I don't know much about it as it was a great deal and the dealership didn't take any time to explain anything.

I appreciate any feedback in advance.

My best,

NEOhioCamper
NEOhioCamper

97 Damon Ultrasport
7 REPLIES 7

gsf35099
Explorer
Explorer
On the side wall there is a 4 digit code in an oval. First 2 digits are the week and last 2 are the year.
2005 Damon Astoria 3679
300 Cummins ISB 5.9, Allison auto 5 speed

Life is to short not to have a good time and enjoy!!!

Sam_Spade
Explorer
Explorer
NEOhioCamper wrote:
but how do I locate date codes? Not to sound ignorant but I am a newbie.

Try this:
https://www.tirebuyer.com/education/how-to-determine-the-age-of-your-tires

(Found with a Google search for "tire date codes")
'07 Damon Outlaw 3611
CanAm Spyder in the "trunk"

NEOhioCamper
Explorer
Explorer
Sam Spade wrote:
I have an '07 Outlaw toy hauler 3611.
It is on a GM chassis so we might not have much in common.

This being my second used unit, I'm finding some of the normally expected things that plague almost all used RVs.....like a leaking sewer pipe, cracked skylights, etc.

But I'm also finding some stuff that makes me mad. Like drawers that have virtually NO latching mechanism so that they come open after driving a few miles. The cabinet DOORS have good latches; the drawers just slide free. Thankfully the rails won't let them come all the way out.

Check the date codes on the tires. Even if they look perfect, it they are 5 years old you should plan to change them out in the next couple of years. If 7 or more, replace NOW.

Damon was bought out or merged with Thor a few years back.